Sunday, August 23, 2009

miss teen usa 1990

Miss Teen USA 1990, the eighth Miss Teen USA pageant, was televised live from Biloxi, Mississippi on July 16, 1990.

At the conclusion of the final competition, Bridgette Wilson of Oregon was crowned by outgoing titleholder Brandi Sherwood of Idaho.

1990 marked the year that Oregon won the pageant for the second of three times in the history of the pageant. No other state has won more than one Miss Teen USA title, making Oregon the only one with three crowns: Mindy Duncan in 1988, Bridgette Wilson in 1990 and Tami Farrell in 2003.

This was the first year the pageant was held at the Mississippi Gulf Coast Coliseum in Biloxi, where it would be held for the following four years.

Sandy Duncan hosted the event for the only time, with color commentary by Leeza Gibbons and Miss Teen USA 1985 Kelly Hu. Music was provided by the Gulf Coast Teen Orchestra. Duncan was the first female host of an American beauty pageant.

The runners-up were: 
1st runner-up: Marla Johnson (Alaska)
2nd runner-up: Holly Roehl (Georgia)

The other top six finalists were: April Vaughan (Kentucky), Susan Barnett (Pennsylvania) and Becky Fisher (Texas).

The remaining semi-finalists were: Ali Landry (Louisiana), Trisha Robie (California), Tavia Shackles (Missouri), Nina Cammaratta (Massachusetts), Jeri Lynn Beatty (Arizona), Shalon Pekosky (Colorado).

Special awards
Miss Congeniality: Shirelle Robinson (District of Columbia)
Miss Photogenic: J.J. Casper (Nevada)


Post a Comment

Template by:
Free Blog Templates