Monday, August 17, 2009

miss universe 2008

Miss Universe 2008, the 57th Miss Universe beauty pageant, was held at the Crown Convention Center (Diamond Bay Resort) in Nha Trang, Vietnam on July 14, 2008. Dayana Mendoza, Miss Venezuela, was crowned Miss Universe 2008 by outgoing titleholder Riyo Mori of Japan.

This is the first major USA-based television production to take place in Vietnam since the end of the Vietnam War. This is also the first time that the Miss Universe pageant was broadcast in 1080i High-definition. And this pageant was held in a contemporary Communist state for the first time.

The final presentation show was on July 8, the dress rehearsal on July 13 and the live telecast on July 14. Most activities were held successively in Ho Chi Minh City (formerly Sai Gon), Ha Noi, Da Nang, Hoi An, Ha Long and finally Nha Trang.

Jerry Springer, tabloid talk show host and host of NBC's America's Got Talent, and Melanie Brown, a.k.a. "Scary Spice", member of the UK pop group Spice Girls and host of TLC's The Singing Office, presented this year's competition. Lady GaGa, 22 year-old performer and songwriter, performed her single Just Dance.

This was the second year since 2002 that the judges' average scores were shown on television.

Results.Miss Universe 2008: Dayana Mendoza (Venezuela) 
The runners-up were: 
1st runner-up: Taliana Vargas (Colombia) 
2nd runner-up: Marianne Cruz Gonzalez (Dominican Republic) 
3rd runner-up: Vera Krasova (Russia) 
4th runner-up: Elisa Najera (Mexico) 
The following contestants placed in the top ten and competed in both swimsuit and evening gown (in order of placement): Zana Krasniqi (Kosovo), Claudia Moro (Spain), Crystle Stewart (USA), Claudia Ferraris (Italy), Laura Dundovic (Australia) 
The following contestants placed in the top fifteen and competed in the swimsuit competition (in order of placement): Eliška Bučková (Czech Republic), Jázmin Dammak (Hungary), Tanzey Coetzee (South Africa), Hiroko Mima (Japan), Nguyễn Thùy Lâm (Vietnam) 

Special awards
Miss Congeniality: Rebeca Moreno (El Salvador) 
Best National Costume: Gavintra Photijak (Thailand) 
For the first time since the award's inception, no Miss Photogenic Award was given.


Post a Comment

Template by:
Free Blog Templates